Vodka BBQ Sauce Recipe: The BEST I’ve ever had!

From time to time I come across a website, as out of place as it may seem, that astonishes me. On imeem.com, a site dedicated to sharing music and video, I came across a group created by some ‘good ole boys’ dedicated to the art of Texas BBQ. The group’s site consists of recipes and instructional videos revolving around, you guessed it, barbecue! While paroozing through the site, I came across a particularly interesting recipe (with instructional video attached) for a Vodka BBQ sauce. So, I’m thinking “Hey! I like Vodka!” and… “Hey! I like barbecue sauce!”. So why not give it a try?

I picked up all the ingredients from the grocery store today and followed the recipe to a T. Now, I must say, this is the best BBQ sauce I’ve ever had! Here I’ve listed the recipe for stove top cooking:

The BBQ Pit Boy’s Vodka BBQ Sauce
I suggest using a pot or pan that can hold 6-8 cups of liquid. Put ALL the following ingredients into said pot/pan and simmer 20-25 mins. stirring occasionally

  • 1 quart (or 4 cups) of ketchup
  • 1 cup of apple cider vinegar
  • 1 lemon, cut and squeeze juice out into the pot (alternatively I’d suggest no more than 1/8 cup of lemon juice)
  • 1 cup vodka
  • 1 tablespoon ground cumin
  • 1 tablespoon chili pepper (powder)
  • 1 tablespoon cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 tablespoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/8 cup of salt

taste the amazement!

warning: This makes ALOT of BBQ sauce, so either have a container big enough to hold about 8 cups of BBQ sauce or wrap some tin foil around your pot/pan. Also, I made the stupid mistake of pouring the boiling hot BBQ sauce into a plastic bottle and the bottle melted. So, needless to say, make sure you let it cool first if you’re gonna pour it into any type of soft plastic container!

Official website
The Texas BBQ Recipes Group on imeem
on youtube

One thought on “Vodka BBQ Sauce Recipe: The BEST I’ve ever had!

Leave a Reply

